GolfMark Club of the Year Nominations

You are currently viewing GolfMark Club of the Year Nominations
  • Reading time:3 mins read
  • Post author:Blair Crawford
  • Post category:Junior Golf / News

Nominations for the GolfMark Club of the Year, included New Mills, and Shirland in Derbyshire and Norwood Park, Nottinghamshire – shortlisted.

It’s fantastic to see so many clubs developing golf and striving for high standards which are part of GolfMark award, and encouraging juniors and beginners into the game.

I personally know, having successfully taken Breadsall Priory through GolfMark’s predecessor the ‘Junior GolfMark Award’ ten years ago in 2004 as Junior Captain and Junior Secretary in the following years, the amount of effort required to meet and maintain standards, but also the great support and reward it gives the club once achieved. I also found it provided a great framework to drive junior development and brought the junior section closer to the core of the club; I was also very fortunate to be supported by a great Club Captain, Ian Burtoft, during our development efforts for junior golf.

Congratulations all clubs nominated and those who achieve and maintain GolfMark status, and provide a great supporting framework for the development of golf at all levels. Moreover congratulations to Ruddington Grange in becoming the 700th GolfMark club!

Best of luck to Norwood Park at Aprils presentation.

Full England Golf Article 

Shortlist revealed for 2014 GolfMark Club of the Year Award


Three golf clubs, each with a wonderful record of encouraging juniors and beginners, have been shortlisted for the prestigious 2014 GolfMark Club of the Year award.


They are: Cookridge Hall Golf Club, Yorkshire; Norwood Park Golf Club, Nottinghamshire; and Strawberry Hill Golf Club, Middlesex.


GolfMark is an England Golf initiative which recognises junior and beginner-friendly clubs. It was introduced in 2006 and Ruddington Grange in Nottinghamshire recently became the country’s 700th GolfMark club.


This award, now in its sixth year, recognises GolfMark clubs which have shown an outstanding and innovative contribution to developing the game through a range of activities.


The three finalists were among 17 nominated clubs, all of a high standard, and were selected by a judging panel from the England Golf Partnership.


The other clubs nominated were: Billingham, Durham; Boughton, Kent; Blue Mountain, Berkshire; Carus Green, Cumbria; Cuckfield, Sussex; Dereham, Norfolk; Ealing, Middlesex; Launceston, Cornwall; Mullion, Cornwall; New Mills, Derbyshire; Shirland, Derbyshire; St Austell, Cornwall; The Oaks, Cheshire; Weymouth, Dorset.


England Golf will re-launch the GolfMark initiative in 2014 with an increased emphasis on supporting clubs in the areas of development, business and marketing.